Day 3 – ouch!

Yep, I just got handed my ass on a plate! 750km ridden
today over 14 hours of dirt, hairpin bends and mobbed towns and
I’ve just collapsed in my room. But what an amazing day!!! The day
started on mile after mile of breath taking beauty and forever
winding roads, as the team continued along the Dakar route. We past
through towns wall to wall of waving families, cheering us all on
as the racers did their thing. The temperature soared back up to 97
degrees and the bike fueling wait times drained every ounce of
water from our bodies. We’ve travelled into the mountains up to
15,000 feet (where we now reside with altitude headaches) and the
temperature plummeted to 32 degrees – made colder with only one
heated grip working on my bike. Fan packed towns were totally
contrasted with desolate villages, where watching a motor race was
the furthest thing from their minds. Kids swarmed us this time not
for autographs and photos, but for pesos to feed their families. I
bought a couple of knitted key chain lamas for my girls and handed
out the candy I had in my pockets to sweeten up their day. Our
desert crossing ride lasted 200 km and riding the dirt, rock ridden
roads at 130kph I pushed myself to speeds I never thought I’d not
only achieve but have to maintain for such length. Not only that,
we hit darkness while stile on the dirt and a lightening storm
kicked in – not the time to have a webcam on my head leading the
pack, I was the perfect human conductor off 750lbs. Thank goodness
for training in Pine Barons for three months pre trip or I would
have been toast! I’m struggling writing more as it’s now midnight.
What an amazing day – real adventure! Here’s a few pics. X

About willindakar

Every few years I try and embark on a trip that takes me to places, both physically and mentally, far beyond anywhere I have been before, as a CEO or father. Climbing the highest summits of Antarctica and Europe, diving with Great White sharks, Motorbiking the highest road in the world are a few of the boxes I've ticked - but the trip i am about to depart for should be one of the most testing. Riding with the hardest land race in the world - The Dakar 2011.
This entry was posted in The Ride. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 3 – ouch!

  1. Peter Moore says:

    Wow 750 klicks in one day and not even on proper roads.
    respect bruv respect. It seems like you are having a blast. Shame
    about the heated grips. Get BMW on the case as this shouldnt happen
    to an Adventure. How many sweets can you carry in your pockets for
    these kids? dont they melt. Kep up the great adventure and we are
    all Will-ing you on Get it Will-ing. Cheers Peter

  2. zhanna says:

    Well done babes! Love you! 🙂

  3. Paul says:

    Sounds amazing so far!

  4. Brad G. says:

    Hey Will- sounds like a cracking adventure!!! Love the
    updates and the opportunity to live vicariously. Get some rest!
    Brad G.

  5. itfben says:

    that bmw is look very clean, you sure youve been at the dakar? or even riding it? 🙂

  6. Jeremy Graham says:

    Now then,not the first time you’ve been handed your arse on a plate! Nor the first time you ‘ve been stood between two coppers….
    Keep going,you ‘re doing us proud.
    J x

  7. Jesse Nicely says:

    Any ways to tag on Google Maps where you are?

  8. Russell says:

    Make sure you still have your wallet after being between the 2 police officers!

    • Russell says:

      ooo and “what the bananas”? I see you started a family already. (The little boy on your beemer bike). Have you been gone that long already?

  9. Michael Natenzon says:

    wow, it sounds so exciting! Riding a motorbike most of the day sounds like the life to me. It’s pretty busy on this side of the globe. I have a bunch of tests i have to study for, so im locked in my room all day with my nose glued to my books… doesn’t sound remotely as fun as riding 750 km a day! I don’t even know how you manage to type at the end of the day! I would fall asleep the second i hit the bed! I hope the ride gets smoother everyday. I wish you best of luck.
    lots of love- Mike

Leave a Reply

