Day 2 – shoot me!

I was woken by the sound of helicopters overhead
at 5am this morning – a rude awakening after finally crashing at
1am as my bags had gone missing for twelve hours. The team had
gathered for dinner at Estancia La Paz last night at 10pm, after a
few of the stragglers from the team arrived – myself included. I’d
missed a connection by three minutes, throwing my baggage into
delivery turmoil and me into a seven hour airport wait. Three of
the team had no gear and two no bikes. Welcome to navigating
Argentinian transportation logistics! After the early role call
from above it was impossible to fall back to sleep with the
excitement of day one looming. I decided to have a walk around the
hotel grounds, check my BMW 1200 GS Adventure and get my day pack
and gear sorted. Breakfast was the traditional cold cuts, cheese
and croissants, washed down with strong coffee and a glass of water
and then the full team was set and ready to role. To be honest I’m
not sure how I’m going to muster up the energy to write this blog
at the end of each day like today. I am so knackered it’s untrue,
but I’m gonna try. Today was over 400 miles of riding in 98 degrees
heat. My face looks like I just lost a slapping competition and I
won’t go into how sore my rear is after eleven hours of riding. But
I must say, I have never, in my life, experienced so much support
and warmth from people anywhere! The whole eleven hours involved
crowds of Argentinians, young and old, male and female, waving
flags, their arms, theirs kids, whatever they could get their hands
on as we past through towns. And we waved back with equal warmth.
When filling up the bikes for gas, we were descended upon by
complete villages, kids asked for their T-shirts and arms to be
signed and baby’s were passed over to be plopped on our bikes for
their family albums. I’ve never felt so loved and so welcomed as we
were today, day one and this driving energy carried the whole team
as we were emerged into this fourteen day experience. The cars were
flying, 170kph down dirt tracks with swarming crowds, followed by
swooping helicopters and pulsing hearts. I want to be a race car
driver for sure, says my now primed inner child! My close buddies
Michael and Fewelly are now sitting exhausted and gulping at the
thought that tomorrow will be riding 750 km – we can hardly lift
our heads at the table. Here’s a few pics and I hope I can muster
more strength tomorrow. Night! X

About willindakar

Every few years I try and embark on a trip that takes me to places, both physically and mentally, far beyond anywhere I have been before, as a CEO or father. Climbing the highest summits of Antarctica and Europe, diving with Great White sharks, Motorbiking the highest road in the world are a few of the boxes I've ticked - but the trip i am about to depart for should be one of the most testing. Riding with the hardest land race in the world - The Dakar 2011.
This entry was posted in The Ride. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 2 – shoot me!

  1. itfben says:

    great pic, was that all you were riding in shirt and armour or did you have a jacket over the top? i know how hot those full piece armour things car be with a jacket over the top never mind for 11 hours – crazy man! šŸ™‚

    glad your having a blast, Im sure you will getting some serious sleep in between the hard days riding. keep the pics coming, loving the daily read.

    B x

  2. Zhanna says:

    I’m so so proud of you baby!!! You inspire me every day! I
    love you! Sending you love and light! Kiss, -me:-)

  3. david selikow says:

    I’m really enjoying following the race from your POV. We’re
    all shouting for you from up here in LA. Good luck for tomorrow!!
    Dave S

  4. Jason says:

    Congrats on your latest adventure !! Ride on …

  5. Russell says:

    Your posts are wonderful. Maybe cut them down a little so its not as draining for you…

    All the best from your fam back in New York!

  6. tk says:

    go will! sending energy your way, mate!

  7. Jeremy Graham says:

    You must be very proud,doing well so far,am impressed,keep going.
    Flights all booked for January!
    J x

  8. Lon Bencini says:

    The grand adventure, once again, I want to be you. (Well,
    with some caveats, of course!) Stay vertical!!!

  9. Amelia travis says:

    Hi dad, I hope you feel better and get your rest! I miss
    you lots and we hope after this you won’t pick up that bike for
    another year or so!!!!! Love you bye

  10. Amelia travis says:

    Hi dad, hope you get better and get your rest, I love you
    and miss you so much! Oh and when you get back please don’t go on
    your bike for another year or so!!!! Why were the helicopters there
    anyway? And why were you in a car instead of your bike in the
    photo? Love you lots xxxxxxxxxxxx Bye Amelia

Leave a Reply

