Final day of training

Christmas Eve and I’ve just finished my final day of
training with Sue at the gym. The work on my inner core has been
irreplaceable for the trip, with most exercises involved some
incorporation of a half ball platform called a Bosu (better known
as “little bast%^#d”) and a weighted bar to imitate the balance and
posture on the bike. Our real success is going to be based on the
strength of our muscle memory to get us through what we’ll hit at
the end of our 12 hour riding days. The sand filled potholes, rocks
and pushing crowds while we navigate our 600lb bikes is the killer.
Ok – dashing to get last minute items and check in on the progress
of the truck.

About willindakar

Every few years I try and embark on a trip that takes me to places, both physically and mentally, far beyond anywhere I have been before, as a CEO or father. Climbing the highest summits of Antarctica and Europe, diving with Great White sharks, Motorbiking the highest road in the world are a few of the boxes I've ticked - but the trip i am about to depart for should be one of the most testing. Riding with the hardest land race in the world - The Dakar 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final day of training

  1. Michael Natenzon says:

    I hope all that training will pay off in the long-ride. I wish you the best of luck- and I hope you have a great experience!

  2. dominic carmichael says:

    Go Will Go (I’m pretty sur you wil suffer 🙂 ) But you will succeed my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

