Getting ready…

So it’s been three months now since I decided to join Rawhyde Adventures and attempt to ride the 3,500 miles of terrain between Buenos Aires and Arica, up the Chilean coast.

The Dakar,  the hardest land race in the world, will be entering its 34th year and we will ride with the hundreds of bikes, trucks and cars as they race, under the watchful eye of helicopters and thousands of spectators, across the Ande mountain range.

For the last few months I’ve been training with my buddies Michael Quinn and late entry Mark Fewell by riding the deserts of Nevada, the sand dunes of New Jersey’s million acre Pine Barrons and working on my core strength with Equinox trainer Sue.

So am I ready? Well my training weekend in California last weekend went without a hitch. My balance control and sand skills were great and my 400 mile tester ride went as smooth as silk. But that said, compared what we will be doing day after day after day for thirteen days, I’m not sure how I’ll fair and I know through experience, healthy butterflies in my belly is a good thing to keep me on my toes and ready for the full trip.

We’ll be meeting our BMW 1200 GS Adventures down in Argentina on the 1st December, all set and ready for the distance I’ve only just clocked after sixteen months of owning the bike, but will double in two weeks. Now its off home, the night before Christmas Eve to get check on my gear and scramble for any missing pieces! Gulp!

Here's the route the teams will be taking

About willindakar

Every few years I try and embark on a trip that takes me to places, both physically and mentally, far beyond anywhere I have been before, as a CEO or father. Climbing the highest summits of Antarctica and Europe, diving with Great White sharks, Motorbiking the highest road in the world are a few of the boxes I've ticked - but the trip i am about to depart for should be one of the most testing. Riding with the hardest land race in the world - The Dakar 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting ready…

  1. Max says:

    first one to post I see… guess we know who’s getting the inheritance!
    Have an AMAZING time. Be safe. and the best of luck!
    Merry Christmas
    Love from Max

    Ps. 2nd place is as good as last.

  2. Mike Parise says:

    My envy is beating the hell out of my happiness for you, but I’m sure the latter will win the battle in the end (I hope!). Have a blast! Throw lots of sand in Jim’s face. Keep it pinned and the rubber side down. And I’ll look forward to the next post.

  3. bea says:

    so cool dad i am getting exited just hearing you talk about it!!!!!!!
    hope you have fun! see you soon, BEATRICE TRAVI$

  4. bob scott says:

    Will, Have a great time my friend. Safe Journey and look
    out for snakes and the illusive cape-spotted yappy bee. If stung,
    it could give you permanent giggles. Also bring plenty of dry
    socks. Fresh!

  5. itfben says:

    Have fun big man! 🙂 I’m really looking forward to reading up on this adventure as you go so post as often as you can.

    Take care,
    B x

  6. Rich says:

    Good Luck this so fucking awesome. I did the Carrera Panamerica a few years ago , that is nothing compared to the Dakar . I will be jealously be following .

Leave a Reply

